Juneau, Colony advance to fourth-place game

Posted by Van Williams, ALB Media Director | May 31, 2019

Juneau-Douglas 11, North Pole 1

Garrett Bryant went 4-for-4 and Brock McCormick pitched a five-inning complete game as the Crimson Bears won the consolation game at the ASAA/First National Bank State Baseball Tournament at Mulcahy Stadium.


Bryant doubled, drove in three runs, scored three runs and stole two bases. McCormick allowed just three hits and threw a first-pitch strike to 14 of 21 batters.


Riley Griffin went 2-for-3 with a double, RBI and run for Juneau (8-10). Brock McCormick, Christian Ludeman and Olin Rawson also had RBIs.


Gaby Soto Sanchez and Gavin Millard each went 1-for-3 and scored twice. Millard smacked a double and Sanchez swiped two bags.


This was Juneau’s record 27th win at the state tournament. The Crimson Bears are now 27-13 all-time, with the 40 games being No. 1 in Alaska.


They will face Colony in tomorrow's fourth-place game.


North Pole (9-7) finished tied for seventh at state.


Ben Green, Alex Garcia and Gavin Fischer each had base hits for the Patriots. Fischer’s hit was a double. He also scored a run and pitched 1.2 innings.


Colony 8, West Valley 4

Kaden Ketchum collected two hits, drove in two runs and pitched 2.1 innings to help the Knights win the consolation game to avoid elimination at the ASAA/First National Bank State Baseball Tournament at Mulcahy Stadium.


The leadoff hitter finished 2-for-4 at the plate with a double. His scoreless relief appearances ended with a save.


The Knights (12-7) advanced to tomorrow’s fourth-place game. This was the program’s eighth all-time win at the state tournament, which ranks No. 9 in Alaska.


Colony No. 9 hitter Evan Walker tripled, drove in two runs and scored twice. Ben Alley was 2-for-2 with an RBI and run. He also started and earned the win, throwing 4.2 innings and scattering four hits and five walks with three Ks.


West Valley (12-4) finished the season tied for seventh at state.


Andrew Troppman showed out for the Mid-Alaska Conference championships with a base hit, RBI, run scored, stolen base and one inning pitched.


Dylan Swarthout, William Boswood and Isaac Coon also had RBIs for West Valley and Billy Renfrew, Shaun Conwell and Jacob Angaiak also scored runs.