South's Homza named Don Rabung CIC MVP

Posted by Van Williams, ALB Media Director | May 26, 2017

The Cook Inlet Conference baseball awards were handed out last night, with the undefeated South Wolverines taking home the majority of the individual honors.

Most notably, Wolverine wonder Jonny Homza earned the Don Rabung CIC MVP Award in a vote by league coaches.

Dimond's Dylan Montagna and South's Sladen Mohl shared the Big Stick Award.

Parker Johnson of South won the Gold Glove Award.

South is 16-0 and is the CIC's No. 1 seed at next week's state tournament.

In addition to Homza, Mohl and Johnson, South's other first-team selections were Lian Lincoln, Cody Leslie and Anthony Maldonado.

Service [8-4] is the CIC's No. 2 and had six first-team picks in Ronan Klancher, Cooper Bailey-Parsons, Andrew Jaidinger, Raleigh Pigg and Jaren Childs.

Cook Inlet Conference Baseball Awards Don Rabung CIC MVP Award Jonny Homza South SS/SP .577BA 10RBI 15R .703OBP, 3-0W/L 12.2IP 1.16ERA 19SO

Big Stick Award
Sladen Mohl South 9G .458BA 16RBI 5XBH .888SLG
Dylan Montagna Dimond 10G .321BA 1HR 8RBI 4SB

Gold Glove Award
Parker Johnson South 1.000FLD

Starting Pitcher
Parker Johnson South 3G 3-0W/L 16IP 0.00ERA 27SO
Jake Andresen Dimond 5G 2-1W/L 19.0IP 1.11ERA 23SO
Jonny Homza South 3G 3-0W/L 12.2IP 1.16ERA 19SO
Gaten Davis East 6G 2-2W/L 29.1IP 1.67ERA 49SO
Jaren Childs Service 5G 1-0W/L 12.1IP 2.40ERA 13SO

Relief Pitcher
Andrew Jaidinger Service 5G 0-1W/L 13.2IP 2.17ERA 13SO
Garret Nevells Chugiak 5G 1-0W/L 13.2IP 1.97WHIP 8SO
Raleigh Pigg Service 3G 2-0W/L 1SV 6IP 3.50ERA
Sean Gardeline Dimond 4G 2-1W/L 15.2IP 2.23ERA 15SO

Sladen Mohl South 9G .458BA 16RBI 5XBH .888SLG

First Baseman
Dylan Montagna Dimond 10G .321BA 1HR 8RBI 4SB

Second Baseman
Kyle Henrickson Dimond 10G .300BA 10R 5RBI 23B

Jonny Homza South 10G .577BA 10RBI 15R .703OBP

Third Baseman
Cooper Bailey-Parsons Service 10G .387BA 9RBI 13R 5SB

Ronan Klancher Service 10G .444BA 13R 7RBI .595OBP
Lian Lincoln South 10G .485BA 17R 12RBI 3XBH
Cody Leslie South 5G .333BA 4R 13B 4R
Brian Wing Chugiak 9G .286BA 5R 7BB .545OBP

Parker Johnson South 10G .469BA 14RBI 16R 8SB
Luis Nunez West 9G .391BA 3RBI 7R .446OBP

Designated Hitter
Anthony Maldonado South 9G .524BA 10R 9RBI .593OPB



SP- Braden Olmstead Eagle River; Brian Wing Chugiak; Thomas Zettler West; Chris Crespo West.
RP- Austin Weller South; Ryan Gray Eagle River.
C- McKenzie Montgomery Dimond; Trystan Costanios Chugiak.
1B- Gaten Davis East.
2B- Christian Cambridge Chugiak.
3B- Ryan Wood Bartlett; David Lundell East.
SS- Raleigh Pigg Service.
OF- Tyler Borschnak Bartlett; Declan Dammeyer West.
UTL- Sam Hall Chugiak; Chase Solberg East.
DH- DJ Davis Chugiak.

SP-Eric White, East.
2B-Jack Opinsky West; Luke Giffen South; Sterling Retzlaff Eagle River; Ian Byrd Bartlett.
3B-Kaden Roetteger Dimond; Chase Subitch South; Chris Crespo West; Billy Smith Chugiak.
OF-Luis Montilla West.
UTL-Jesse Boese Dimond.
DH-David Kley South.

Recent Winners of Don Rabung CIC MVP Award
Cody Curfman, Chugiak, SP/C, 4-W, 0-L, 1.93 ERA, 16 K, 29 IP, .323 BA, 9 RBI, 3 2B, 7 SB, 6 CS, 4 PK
tie, Lucas Thorp, Dimond, 1B/RP, .414 BA, 2 HR, 9 RBI, .759 SLG, 1-W, 1-L, 2 SV, 2.69 ERA, 13 IP
Willy Homza, South, SS, .518 BA, 10 RBI, 7 XBH, .556 OBP, .938 FLD
Dalton Chapman, West, P/1B, 4-W, 0-L, 0.96 ERA, 1 SV, 77 Ks, 36 IP, .456 BA, 15 RBI, 4 3B, .711 SLG
Max Karnos, South, P/1B, 1-W, 1-L, 0.33 ERA, 35Ks, 20 IP, 17 Ks 1 GM, .429 BA, 6 2B, 8 XBH, 8 BB, 11 RBI
Zach Ferntheil, Service, P/1B, 3-W, 0-L, 2 SV, 1.12 ERA, 25 K, 18 IP, .423 BA