JV State: Eagle River beats Palmer for 2nd straight title

Posted by Van Williams, ALB Media Director | Aug 10, 2020

Luke Barch pitched six strong innings and Landon Hudson went 2-for-4 with an RBI and a run as the Eagle River Wolves beat the Palmer Pioneers 8-5 in the Alliance Junior State Tournament at Hermon Brothers Field.


Barch allowed four hits and two earned runs while striking out three batters.


Last year, Barch pitched a complete game as Eagle River beat Dimond 17-4 for the state title.


Hudson – the No. 9 batter – sparked his team from the bottom of the lineup, which is exactly what you need to win the big game.


Hudson’s performance was indicative of Eagle River’s next-man-up mindset.


Every member of the starting nine recorded a base hit, scored a run, drove in a run or drew a walk.


“So tough to pick a MVP so we won’t,” Eagle River coach Chris Barch said. “Each game presented its own challenge and it was a different set of players that stepped up each game.


“It was truly a team effort.”


Eagle River JV.jpg


Liam Lierman went 1-for-3 with a run and RBI. Jack Molloy was 1-for-3 with two runs and he pitched the final inning of relief.


Eagle River went 3-0 with a bye in the 12-team, two-division tournament that extended four days in the Mat-Su Valley, with games held at Palmer’s Hermon Brothers Field and Wasilla’s McManus Field.


The Wolves won a wild 15-14 game against Wasilla on Day 2 of the tournament in a slugfest that went extra innings and took nearly four hours to complete. The beat Service 15-1 in the division final to advance to the state title game.


Palmer came into the tournament as the de facto No. 1 seed after winning both regular-season JV tournaments in Fairbanks and Chugiak.


The Pioneers beat Fairbanks Red 9-3 and South 16-6 to reach the state final.



Legion A/Alliance JV State Title Game

2020 Eagle River 8, Palmer 5

2019 Eagle River 17, Dimond 4

2018 South Black 9, South Gold 0

2017 N/A

2016 Chugiak 12, Kenai 3

2015 N/A

2014 South 10, Dimond 4

2013 Wasilla 6, South 4

2012 Wasilla 5, Fairbanks 4