North Pole wins Midnight Sun title game in slugfest

Posted by Van Williams, ALB Media Director | Jun 24, 2018

The North Pole Post 30 Wild jumped to a big lead and then hung on for a wild 13-12 win over Eagle River in the championship game of the Midnight Sun Invitational in Fairbanks.

It was the third consecutive one-run victory for North Pole, which had lost their first six games to open the Alaska Legion AA season.

The Midnight Sun is the first leg in the four-stop Alaska Airlines Tournament Tour.

North Pole tablesetters Alex Garcia and Josh Smith each scored three runs and Matthew Williams drove in four runs.

Wild starter Chase Reed allowed just one run over his first four innings and pitched a total of 5.2 innings to earn the win.

Eagle River trailed 10-1 before the Wolves battled back and pulled within a run on Christian Frederick’s two-out, two-run single in the seventh inning.

Braden Olmstead went 4-for-5 with a pair of RBIs and Frederick finished with three RBIs.

Bartlett Post 29 beat Fairbanks Post 11 by a 13-4 score in the third-place game.

The next stop on the tournament series is the Todd Ryan Memorial in Wasilla at the end of this week.

Eagle River 100 016 4 - 12 9 5

North Pole 420 403 x - 13 10 5

Eagle River - Lewis, Frederick (4) and Witte. North Pole - Reed, Weatherspoon (6), Wilken (6) and Smith. W - Reed. L - Lewis. 2B - Christman (NP), Garcia (NP), Williams (NP). 3B - None. HR - None.